The festival

Sondrio Festival is a unique international film festival, mainly dedicated to nature films, of high scientific and cinematographic level, made in nature parks and protected areas worldwide. It takes place every year since 1987 in Sondrio, Italy, in November, during two weeks.

The works presented in the competition are selected from the best productions worldwide: among the past festivals winners are film-makers from all over the world and famous personalities in the field of nature documentary.

Further film sections may be set up for documentaries made in natural areas, highlighting problems concerning the environment, its conservation, human activities, agriculture and sustainable development.

The Festival International Jury is composed by film-makers, producers, naturalists, park managers and journalists.

The aims of the Festival are the diffusion of the culture of nature parks, protected areas and environmental protection, environmental education and the promotion of nature films.

In the course of two weeks, the Festival attracts a large audience and the local school children and students who have the opportunity to meet, learn and interact with filmmakers, naturalists and parks managers.

As well as the film screenings (the evening films are shown again on the following day, in the morning for schools and in the afternoon for the general public) the Festival week hosts conferences, exhibitions, shows, meetings with the film-makers and on environmental education for the schools.


International Jury

Joaquín Gomez (Argentina)
Chairperson at ONA Sounds - Buenos Aires. Creator of the ONA Short Film Festival – Venice, Italy)
Francesco Fei  (Italy)
Director of “La via incantata”, to be presented out of competition at the Sondrio Festival 2021
Richard Fedorchak (USA)
Representative of the U.S. National Park Service
Daniela Berta(Italy)
Museo Nazionale della Montagna “Duca degli Abruzzi ” (Turin, Italy) - Museum director
Michael Pause (Germany)
Author, director, producer and presenter for a TV show about mountaineering. Artistic director of the Tegernsee International Mountain Film since 2003.
Loredana Dresti (Italy)
Representative of the Stelvio National Park
Maurizio Gianola (Italy)
Sondrio Festival Scientific Committee